H&R Block Software

It’s tax time and I have paid my annual fees to license H&B Block “At Home Premium” to do my rather complicated taxes.
I’ve tried Intuit’s TurboTax and didn’t like it very much, I like most of what “At Home” does.  However, last year there were lots of UI glitches in Vista.
This year I’m running Win7 x64 and have started with my donations via the free H&R Block Deduction Pro software.  Well there isn’t anything PRO about it.  First, it has many UI artifacts as it was probably last written for Windows 98.  Second, you have to re-enter EVERYTHING from year to year.  I don’t know about other folks, but I tend to have the same NPR channel, same Church, and same Rotary club from year to year… It would be nice to have those imported.  In fact, if we could import everything like the tax software does – that would be nice.
As the publisher of some 20 yr old software, I understand how expensive it can be to replace software, but I suspect they sell more tax prep software than I sell mil sims and I suspect Donation management software is less complicated than our milsims.
Plus, I only get to charge my customers every 3-6 years, they get to charge us EVERY YEAR.
Gripe over.
Leave a Reply

