My Review of Deuter Futura Pro 42 Pack

Originally submitted at REI

The Deuter Futura Pro 42 pack gets you out on the trail with an advanced suspension that offers lightweight, breathable comfort and load transfer.

Backbacking with the Scouts

By BackpackersFTW from Central Texas on 11/25/2011

 

4out of 5

Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Good Padding, Lightweight, Highly Adjustable

Cons: Needs more loops

Best Uses: Day Hikes, Extended Hikes

Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer

What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven

I’m a 50yr old dad w some back issues trying to keep up with a troop of boy scouts. We do primitive camping 1-3 mi from the trail head and lately, that means 100% of our water comes with us. We then do 7-15 mi day treks over the weekend.

What I don’t like is the lack of attachment points to handle my tent and pad. The pad now ends up under the vertical straps that hold the top down, but the tent is strapped to the sides, split up. 3L water goes inside and my compressed sleeping bag, plus a camp pillow go in the sleeping bag compartment.

I also dislike the lower horizontal snug straps being closed and being OVER the water bottle holders. This is one reason why I now carry 3L of water in a bladder, I can’t get to the water bottles. It could use some pockets on the hip belts too.

I’m finding that the bag is also a bit small for 2 days with food and water (I don’t carry a stove yet). I’m going to see if I can sell it to a young scout (who can’t carry a 60L pack) and move up a size.

On the plus side, the bag is sturdy, comfortable, and once camp is set, I like the many pockets.

(legalese)

Leave a Reply

