IEEE Data Breach – REALLY?

For those who watch Saturday Night Live, I can see Seth Meyers doing the “Really?” piece on the IEEE data breach.

My comments, added to a note to IEEE Service when asking some questions related to my $200+/yr renewal:

“And as an aside, I can not tell you how deeply disappointed I am with the data breach of IEEE. We are charged world class dues, and the senior professional staff are allegedly paid six figure salaries, yet the IT staff developed, fielded and tested a web app that stored user names and passwords in PLAIN TEXT! How about the fact I have yet to receive an official notification from IEEE regardless of my personal account being or not being breached?”

 

Updated: 10/2/2012 – the gory details:

http://ieeelog.com/

and… NO WORD FROM IEEE except for additional emails asking for me to renew my membership…. REALLY?

Leave a Reply

